Lin Fung Temple along with the two other temples, A-Ma Temple and Kun lam Temple are the three most popular temples of Macau. Lin Fung Temple was built during the Ming Dynasty in the period of 1368 to 1644 and originally known as Tianfei Temple. The current architectural design of the building is the result of many constructions undertaken from the Qing Dynasty.
The whole complex is consisting of a cluster of palaces. Tianhou Palace is the centre of the complex and is dedicated to Kwan-yin. The Palace of Emperor Wu is located to the left and the Renshou Palace or the Palace of Benevolence and Longevity is located in the right of the Tianhou Palace. Shennong Palace, Yiling Palace, Doumu Palace and Juyong Palace are also parts of the complex.
There is a spacious square in the front of the Lin Fung Temple which is surrounded by stone enclosures. Various ancient tree with thick leaves grow in the square. There is a small garden having pavilions, grass and flower behind the temple. In addition to this, there is a lotus pond in the temple itself. During the summer time, the pond is flourished with fragrant flowers and green leaves. Behind the lotus pond, there is a screen which is decorated with the giant cyprinoids and writhing dragons.
The Temple of Lin Fung is worth visiting because of the Lin Zexu, the national hero and the arrivals of Chinese mandarins. In the year 1839, Lin Xexu stayed in this temple and interviewed the officials of Macau and Portugal. It was this place where he had prohibited the opium trade completely. In commemoration, a stone of Lin Zexu stand there which is about three meters or ten feet in height. The Memorial Hall of Lin Zexu was established in November 1997, next to the Tianhou Palace for praising his nobility and loyalty.